Another Dr. Craig Alan Bittner Victim

June 5, 2011

Interview News and Care Credit information

Filed under: Uncategorized — Another Dr. Bittner Victim @ 6:31 pm

A huge thanks to all of you who met today. Things went very well and there are some great possibilities in the works for those who attended. There may also be a source for some help to other victims, but it will take some time.

A note to all victims who used “Care Credit.” I was reported that some victims who used Care Credit to finance their surgery were able to recover some loss directly from Care Credit. If you used it you should investigate that possibility.

Everyone who attended today will tell you that if you don’t speak up and try to fight back, you never have a chance to win. Keep fighting!

4 Comments »

  1. Do you have more information regarding Care Credit?
    I am also very interested in the possibilities that are in the works for those who attended. Can you share that information?
    Last you mentioned there may be a source for other victims to get help, but it may take time. Is there anything we can do to help in the process, and could you shed a little light on the statute of limitations? I am a victim who recently found your site and I’m looking for more facts. Could you direct me in the right direction?
    Thank you,
    Debbie Manriquez

    Comment by Debbie Manriquez — June 6, 2011 @ 7:16 am | Reply

    • Debbie,
      The person who offered assistance limited the offer to those at the interview and asked us not to discuss it openly for the time being. I must abide by those conditions.

      Several attorneys and the Los Angeles courthouse told me the statute was 2 years. Of course, most attorneys were not willing to consider a cosmetic case as a general rule, something we are hoping to change a little. I recently found that it is 3 years from date of service or one year from when you found something wrong. Every time I asked, I was told if I could not find him I could not serve him. Not a single attorney or the courthouse told me I could serve him by public notice. Sadly, the California legal community and legal system is more interested in money and an easy time than equal justice and none of us were afforded the help we needed to get something done. We were all given a basic brush-off.

      I know nothing about Care Credit, only that, reportedly, they made some restitution to some victims. If you used it, give them a call and inquire. It is possible that mentioning that you know others received some refund may help. If it was done early on, they may have been able to take the money out of his account to cover it and may not be willing to work with you now, but it’s worth a try.

      **Do nothing = get nothing; do something = 50% chance of getting something!

      We know now that if more people had spoken up early on, this whole thing might have turned out very differently. Let me qualify that statement: spoken up, truthfully, with the facts and no name calling. I told people for years to speak up and file a complaint, many did not take the time to even file. You don’t get anything in life without making an effort, and it’s always a risk. But,you have to go about it the right way.

      Any victims out here get refunds from Care Credit? Please let me know how you went about it!

      As for more help, I am working on several things intended to share our story further, and create more public interest and knowledge about the issues surrounding it. If any of those endeavors bring offers of help, or revenue of any sort, they will be shared. If there are offers of revision I will either honor the doctors’ conditions to choose a recipient or will institute the fairest system possible to choose. Should any revenue be gained from my projects, I will set up a fund and share those proceeds in a similar way. The one thing I have vowed is that I will not accept any offer of surgical revision for myself or put myself in the lottery for help from the fund.

      I will share any information on help when it becomes available. I can’t make promises, but there have already been some monetary offers that are dependent on certain conditions. If those conditions are met, they will be available by some selection system that is fair or random. There is an awful lot of work to be done to meet those conditions, and some are out of my control. Join the FB group and stay in touch. I can’t devote all my time to this, but I will not give it up.

      Get some help for yourself any way you can. Since you are in Long Beach, Alan Heller will offer you a free consultation and will be honest about what he can do. I also will have the name of a new doctor in BH, shortly.

      Don’t let this take over your life, but, also, don’t avoid dealing with it!

      Stay tuned!

      Comment by Another Dr. Bittner Victim — June 6, 2011 @ 9:16 am | Reply

      • Thank you for all your work on this, I too, was a victim of what I thought to be a reputable surgeon, Dr. Bittner

        Comment by notanotherteenmommy — November 26, 2011 @ 11:37 pm

  2. I would like to thank you very much for the information, all the endless work, and personal time you have given on this matter. You are a special person. Again if there is anything I can do to help you, anything at all please don’t hesitate to call on me.
    Thank you.
    Sincerely,
    Debbie Manriquez
    (949) 510-3883

    Comment by Debbie Manriquez — June 10, 2011 @ 5:06 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

